Sunday, 11 January 2015

Hierarchy of Needs Theory

Hierarchy of needs theory: (Abraham Maslow)

There is a hierarchy of five needs: Physical needs, safety needs, social needs, esteem needs and self-actualization; as each need is substantially satisfied, the next need become dominant.
Physical Needs: Hunger, thirst, sex and other body needs.
Safety needs: security and protection from physical and emotional harm.
Social needs: includes friendship, affection, belongingness, and acceptance.
Esteem Needs:

  • Internal esteem: self -respect, autonomy, achievement
  • External esteem: status, recognition, attention.

Self- Actualization: the drive to become what one is capable of becoming. Includes-growth, achieving one’s potential and self-fulfillment.

So if you want to motivate someone, according to Maslow, you need to understand what level of the hierarchy that person is currently on and satisfy the needs at or above that level.

Maslow separated the five needs into higher and lower needs.

Lower order needs: physiological and safety needs.
Lower order needs predominantly satisfy externally (by things like pay, union contracts, tenure)
Higher order needs: higher order needs are satisfied internally (by within person)
Negative Point (draw back): little evidence that a satisfied need activate movement to a new level of need.
Ref: Organization Behavior, Stephen P Robbins 

No comments:

Post a comment